About Us


Tamil Nadu Motor Vehicles Maintenance Department is a Service Department which undertakes maintenance and repair of all Government Departmental vehicles through out the state of Tamilnadu. Particularly all the vehicles of Hon’ble Chief Minister’s convoy and being maintained and repaired at Government Central Automobile Workshop of this department at Chennai. For this purpose, special wings have been functioning with all facilities.

Further there are 20 Government Automobile Workshops are functioning in the following District Head Quarters throughout the state for carrying out repairs to all the Government Departmental Vehicles and also there are three Offices of Regional Deputy Directors are functioning at Trichy, Salem, Madurai for the effective supervision of the repair works at these workshops.

1.Kancheepuram 2.Cuddalore 3.Villupuram 4.Dharmapuri 5.Tanjavur 6.Trichy 7.Erode 8.Salem 9.Coimbatore 10.Ooty 11.Madurai 12.Dindigul 13.Sivagangai 14.Virudhunagar 15.Nagarcoil 16.Tirunelveli 17.Vellore 18.Tuticorin 19.Ramanathapuram 20.Chennai

By considering the Quality, Benefits and the need, services rendered by this department (MVMD), the State Planning Commission has agreed for the opening of new Government Automobile Workshops at the following District Head Quarters and also for improving the quality of the services rendered by the three Regional Workshops at Trichy, Madurai, Salem of this department under the 12th Five year plan (2012-2017) and allotted Rs.91.40 Crores as the funds requires for this purpose.
1.Tiruvallur 2.Perambalur 3.Karur 4.Theni 5.Namakkal 6.Pudukkottai 7.Tirupur 8.Nagapattinam 9.Thiruvannamalai 10.Thiruvarur 11.Krishnagiri.

This department undertakes maintenance and repairs of all the Government vehicles of Secretatiat, Chennai-9 with a service station functioning exclusively for this purpose and for all the Government Department Vehicles of nearly 17,955 in numbers throughout the state in Tamilnadu. Apart from the vehicle maintenance, the Tyres and Batteries are being purchased from the manufactures and supplied by this department to all the Government Departmental vehicles to minimise the expenditure and thus making savings to the Government in this aspect

This department is operating one petrol bunk at Secretariat and Nandanam in Chennai and eight Petrol Bunks each one at Government Automobile Workshop, Cuddalore, Thanjavur, Madurai, Trichy, Nagarcoil, Coimbatore, Salem and Dharmapuri for the supply of Fuel to the Government Departmental Vehicles.

The main objective of this department is to provide quality service to the needs of all the Government Departmental vehicles in an economical and efficient manner.